Michael McGarrity, author, "Head Wounds," "The Last Ranch"

Air Dates: July 17-19, 2021


Best-Selling New Mexican Author & Former Law Enforcement Officer

· 18 Crime Novels – All Based in Modern New Mexico

· New Novel: “Head Wounds” – The Latest & Final in the Popular Kevin Kerney series

July 15, 2021 – This week's guest on REPORT FROM SANTA FE is Michael McGarrity, best-selling New Mexican author and former law enforcement officer, discussing “Head Wounds,” the latest and last novel in his popular Kevin Kerney series.

McGarrity’s eighteen crime novels take place in modern New Mexico, with law enforcement officer Kevin Kerney as the protagonist. The settings are vividly evoked and range from the Tularosa Basin and Lincoln County to Hermit’s Peak, although many take place in Santa Fe. “Hard Country,” “Backlands,” and “The Last Ranch” form a sweeping trilogy tracing the Kerney family’s history in New Mexico from 1875 through the end of the Vietnam War. A groundbreaking prequel trilogy, all three books are set on the Tularosa Basin of south Central New Mexico.

McGarrity has received many honors and awards:

New Mexico Social Worker of the Year, 1980

Santa Fe's Police Officer of the Year, 1987

New Mexico Governor's Award for Excellence in the Arts - Literature, 2004

Santa Fe Mayor's Award for Excellence in the Arts - Literature, 2015, and

The Frank Waters Exemplary Literary Achievement Award, 2015.

McGarrity has been nominated three times for the Western Writers of America Spur Award for Best Western Novel as well as an Anthony Award for his debut novel, “Tularosa.”